Rubi Milagros Chanco Barbaran

Please tell us about your current plans after high school and what inspired you to choose this path? I will be attending College of Southern Idaho at the local Community Campus for two years as a part-time student to make my tuition more affordable. I will get my bachelor’s degree so that in the future I can pursue the career of a teacher and lawyer. At this moment I don’t have a job because unfortunately, it is not easy to obtain employment as a person with physical disabilities. So my next step is getting a job or get involved in activities in this amazing community! Since I’m bilingual I would also like to teach Spanish/English to my community members! What inspired me to choose this path? My dad is currently under an immigration review. This means my family and I do not know if or when he is getting deported back to our home country. In any case that they do deport him as years passes by I would love to help him as well as many other people who has similar immigration cases. I know that becoming a Lawyer may take years, that is why first I am thinking about being a school teacher, but still proceed with my Lawyer career! My parents always tells me to follow my dreams! That I will succeed in life! If I am healthy and trust God I know that I can do anything!

Please tell us a little bit about your family. We come from Peru. We are a family of 6. My mom who works at Wrapcity Cafe, my dad at Atkinson’s Market, my older sister who is currently attending CSI at the local Community Campus as a freshman and also working at Wrapcity Cafe, my two younger brothers who are at Ernest Hemingway STEAM School, and myself (plus my two dogs Bobby and Lassie). Due to my physical disability Arthrogryposis my parents decided to come to the United States for a better future! Just as many other people may say “My family is the best”. Well I don’t say that I say that my family in my eyes is perfect! If in another lifetime they ask me to choose my family, I would still pick the same family members that are with me right now!! I have so much anecdotes about spending time with my family! They mean the world to me! Thanks to them I am the person I am today!

What are couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?   Silver Dragon Restaurant, Wrapcity Cafe, La Cabanita Mex, and KB’s.

Who is the most interesting person you’ve met here in our community?  I haven’t really met new people or interesting person at this moment.

If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?  Having dreams that you can pursue in your life is awesome! First of all if I could go anywhere in the world it would have to be my home country. I would go to Peru. I would love to go back to my country and help people with disabilities. Give them a hand in anything that they need, because I want them to have an opportunity to get up and succeed in life. I know that with God by my side and guiding me to the right path I will make my dreams come through and try to make this world a better place, because I know that each of us are here to complete a mission and especially are here to change other people’s lives.

What is one of your favorite movies? TV showsKorean Dramas, How the Grinch stole Christmas, Elf, Ella Enchanted, and many more!

What’s the best advice you ever received from a teacher? Who was the teacher?  It’s a tough question because every teacher I’ve met, I would always received great advises from them! Although particularly these 2 last years I’ve received loads of good advice from Mr. Neet (Jesse Neet). Out of many teachers in High School, he has always been someone I can trust. He would take the time to understand our lives. He would make sure you’re OK all the time, and always check on you. He’s a teacher who cares about his students. Whenever I’m down, I go straight to Mr. Neet for support and comfort. Honestly I’m so grateful for meeting him! One of the best teachers I’ve ever had!!

What is your go to band / singer when you can’t decide what to listen to?  As I do homework/work I love listening to relaxing songs or spiritually music. Generally I listen to Peruvian music.

What one word best describes you? Why?  For myself and other people who know me it would have to be “STRONG” because even when life gets hard on me I still persevere. I don’t give up even if it might be really easy too.

What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?  I love how our community supports one another. On how it is an accessible place for myself to get around with my wheelchair and be independent! I’m grateful I live in a community that’s so calm and beautiful with such amazing people.

Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?  I see myself still being a student with a job, improving in walking without the help of a walker. Living my best life, accomplishing my goals! Specially keep meeting people! Traveling! Reading more books. Gaining amazing experiences.

What show are you binge-watching right now?  I read books!

What is something interesting most people don’t know about you?  I ski, ride horses, i love to dance, I do makeup by myself, I write with my mouth and, I love being outside!

Who inspires you to be better?  My family for sure and a close friend that I have!

If you could go back over your entire school career, what is one thing you would do differently?  Enjoy life, to not worry too much. I wish I could have participated in much more activities we had in our school/ community.

Who or what do you miss the most right now?  I definitely miss school and my friends very much. My last year of High School came to an end earlier. Apart from school I miss having my freedom! I am an outside person. I love being out in nature enjoying every second of my life. Getting together with friends!

What’s the first thing you want to do when this quarantine is over?  As soon as this quarantine is over I would like to go to Ketchum to the Community Library. Get back to riding horses, go swimming, and go visit places with my family and many more things!

Leave a Reply